Recollections: Reviews by a Book Lover



The Fault in Our Stars Book Review

This is my first book review and thus it is a work in progress. As I learn how I want to set up my book reviews and what kind of content I want to focus on the reviews will improve (I hope) over time…so bare with me and any suggestions or comments are welcome.

 

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green.

I’m going to be honest, before The Fault in Our Stars the only book by John Green I read was Will Grayson, Will Grayson which he co-wrote with David Levithan.  I read Will Grayson because I love David Levithan’s books.  However, after reading Will Grayson I knew I needed to read something else by John Green.   Sadly it has taken almost a year for me to get around to reading something by him, but boy am I glad I finally did!  I was originally going to read Looking for Alaska (which is still in my very large ‘to read’ pile) but settled on The Fault in Our Stars.

What it’s about:

Hazel Grace is sixteen and was diagnosed with Stage IV thyroid cancer at thirteen.  She is on a miracle drug which has kept the tumors in her lungs from growing.  The story starts with Hazel going to Support Group (literally in the heart of Jesus) and meeting Augustus Waters who had osteosarcoma and lost his leg a year and a half ago, and decided to come to Support Group for the first time.  Augustus shows an interest in Hazel (although she is not sure why) but she decides to hang out with him.  Thus starts their friendship.

This is a story in which the two main characters have cancer, but it is so much more than that.  It’s about life and death and everything in between.  It’s about being human and all the wishes and desires that go along with that.  It’s painful but it’s beautiful.  It’s a love story.

I love Hazel Grace, her voice, her spunk, her viewpoint.  She is dying of cancer and she knows it, the medicine is keeping the tumors from growing but it hasn’t gotten rid of the cancer.  I love that Hazel’s biggest concern is becoming a grenade and hurting the people she loves most.  But sometimes we are the grenade and sometimes we are the people with the shrapnel.  I can see why she fell in love with Augustus Waters, because he is exactly the type of person you want to fall in love with – funny and sweet and human.

The Fault in Our Stars made me cry, but it also made me laugh and smile.  I love the way John Green writes.  I have heard complaints about how Hazel and Augustus don’t necessarily talk like teenagers.   Since Hazel is taking college courses and they are both living with cancer (which I would imagine causes one to grow up faster) this could explain their more adult feel at times, therefore I did not find the characters unrealistic.

Check it out:   Book Trailer

 

Leave a Reply

