Recollections: Reviews by a Book Lover



Review: Abraham Lincoln Vampire Hunter

Abraham Lincoln

Abraham Lincoln Vampire Hunter

By Seth Grahame-Smith

I decided to read Abraham Lincoln Vampire Hunter when I heard they were turning into a movie.  I had wanted to read it, but the movie moved it up to the top of my to-read pile.

I finished the book last week, but I haven’t seen the movie yet.  I plan on going sometime later this week.  I plan on writing a post on the movie and how I thought it stood up to the book, so look out for that post!

Ok so Abe Lincoln is about the 16th President’s life, from when he was a young boy up to his death, but the obvious twist is the book is about how the President was also a vampire hunter.    What I liked about it:  it reads like history.  Grahame-Smith mixes fact with fiction to create a story that feels plausible because actual history is interwoven.  He uses vampires as the real root to many of Lincoln’s actions throughout his life.  Specifically he focuses on how vampires were the real cause of the civil war, and Lincoln wanted slavery to end in order to put an end to vampires in America.

What I didn’t like:  I didn’t feel like he ever got into real specifics on Lincoln’s hunting of vampires.  He tells you how Lincoln has killed so many vampires, and in a few instances he talks about specific kills.  However, I didn’t find as much action in the book as I expected (I wonder what this will mean for the movie).

I would imagine this book took a lot of research to write, because it really involves the story of Lincoln’s life with vampires interjected.  Unlike his Pride, Prejudice, and Zombies, the story wasn’t already there, in this case Grahame-Smith had to pull the story from history, and then interject the vampires.

Also I was disappointed in the ending; it just didn’t feel right to me.  Anyone agree or disagree?

Leave a Reply

