Recollections: Reviews by a Book Lover



Movie Review: Abraham Lincoln Vampire Hunter

Saturday night I finally got to the movie theatre to see Abraham Lincoln Vampire Hunter.  I read the book, and you can find the review here.  I thought the movie was going to be different from the book, as I said in the review, because of a lack of action in the book which would be necessary in a movie.   So I wasn’t surprised by most of the changes but I was by others.  Certain parts were excluded (such as the first woman Abe was interested in and instead we jump to his meeting Mary Todd) due to the length of the movie.  I understood those changes because everything in a book cannot be included in a movie due to time restrictions.  Also the characters differed slightly.  The vampires were given a face with actual “bad guy” characters versus just vampires in general.  Along with giving the vampires a face, there is also a bigger plot point/action scene than in the book.   Another change, which I didn’t understand, was vampires cannot kill other vampires.  Weird change, I don’t get it.  Also the ending is different.  I didn’t mind that change though because as I said in the book review I really didn’t like the original ending.

Okay enough about the changes, there were a lot.  Overall I enjoyed the movie.  I really enjoyed the action.  Ax wielding, blood splattering goodness!  They did a great job bringing the story to life; I really didn’t mind the casting at all.  I’m not going to get into a whole analysis of the movie because analyzing movies isn’t really what I do.   Overall I liked the movie.  Despite being different from the book I think they did a good job with the adaption.

Leave a Reply

