Recollections: Reviews by a Book Lover



Audiobook Review: An Abundance of Katherines

Image

An Abundance of Katherines

By John Green

What it’s about:  When it comes to relationships, Colin Singleton’s type happens to be girls named Katherine. And when it comes to girls named Katherine, Colin is always getting dumped. Nineteen times, to be exact.

On a road trip miles from home, this anagram-happy, washed-up child prodigy has ten thousand dollars in his pocket, a bloodthirsty feral hog on his trail, and an overweight, Judge Judy-loving best friend riding shotgun–but no Katherines. Colin is on a mission to prove The Theorem of Underlying Katherine Predictability, which he hopes will predict the future of any relationship, avenge Dumpees everywhere, and finally win him the girl. Love, friendship, and a dead Austro-Hungarian archduke add up to surprising and heart-changing conclusions in this ingeniously layered comic novel about reinventing oneself. (Summary from Goodreads.com)

What I Thought:  I didn’t actually read this book; rather I listened to the audiobook.  I really enjoyed this book.  It made me laugh out loud several times.  Colin is a child prodigy with no hope of becoming a genius who has just been dumped by the 19th girl named Katherine, so he is whiney.  And can you blame him?  A washed up child prodigy who has just been dumped being annoying…expected.  So while others have complained about how much they hate Colin, I don’t hate him.  He is smart, he can’t help that he is going to have annoyingly smart tendencies, and he has been dumped so he is sad and moody.  I have to say I’m sorry I didn’t read the book because the book has graphs and footnotes, so I’m sorry I missed out on the fun formatting. 

As far as the audio went: I loved the narrator!  He had amazing voices for each character.  I’ve had negative experiences in the past with audiobooks putting me to sleep, but that was not the case with An Abundance of Katherines

I love John Green’s humor, and I was not disappointed by this book. 

Leave a Reply

